go live

‘go live’ dvd + cd

‘go live’ is a film / live album double pack of jónsi’s hugely acclaimed solo show of 2010. this beautifully conceived package includes reworked live versions of all of the tracks from the sigur rós singer’s debut solo album, ‘go’, as well as versions of all the other new songs he’s been playing on a tour that’s taken in four continents.

the film

The visual element of ‘Go Live’ is based around a film of the very first time jónsi and his band played the songs from ‘Go’ to people at the final dress rehearsal for the tour in March 2010. Filmed by Fifty Nine Productions, the people responsible for jónsi’s celebrated stage design, the movie captures the never-to-be-repeated early stages of the productions development, in front of a small invited audience whose only price of admission was to dress as animals. Interwoven with this footage is background interviews and behind-the-scenes clips of jónsi and band on the road, as well as exclusive versions of the unreleased ‘Icicle Sleeves’, ‘New Piano Song’, ‘Volume Pedal Song’ and other untitled musical interludes to be found nowhere else. Running time is 1 hour 14 minutes.

the album

The live audio part of the package is the entire jónsi hour-and-a-quarter live concert as played the summer of 2010, and features still more exclusive content, including ‘Stars In Still Water’, ‘Saint Naive’, ‘Icicle Sleeves’ and ‘New Piano Song’, as well as a powerful live version of ‘Sticks And Stones’, the song written by jónsi for the end titles of ‘How To Train Your Dragon’. Housed in a hardback two disc “book”, ‘Go Live’ comes with lots and lots of personal pictures taken by the band on the road, throughout the 16-pages inside.

‘Go Live’ is intended as a finely crafted companion to ‘Go’ and ‘Go Quiet’, and as such is being pegged at a special low price.

‘go live’ physical edition

the hardback two disc “book” contains:

  • ‘go live’ dvd: 73minute film featuring the first public performance of the ‘go’ live show. london, march 2010
  • ‘go live’ cd: 75minute live album recorded in may/september 2010
  • 16 page book of photos taken during the 2010 tour

‘go live’ digital edition

upon purchase, customers will immediately receive:

  • ‘go live’ movie in high quality h.264 format
  • 75minute live album recorded in may/september 2010 in lossless format
  • 16 page book of photos taken during the 2010 tour in pdf format
  • exclusive performance of ‘stars in still waters’ in h.264 format
  • ‘around us’ video with clips from ‘go live’. mp4 format.

uk only: £10 worldwide: $15

追記:日本にお住まいの皆様へ、申し訳ありませんが通常盤(Physical Edition)はJonsi.comからはご購入いただけません。お近くの店舗でお買い求めください。(* note: for japanese customers, the physical edition is not available to order from jonsi.com but it will be available to buy in stores locally.)

full tracklistings are as follows:

‘go live’ dvd tracklist:

  1. hengilás
  2. icicle sleeves
  3. kolniður
  4. tornado
  5. sinking friendships
  6. go do
  7. boy lilikoi
  8. new piano song
  9. around us
  10. volume pedal song
  11. grow till tall

filmed live at 3 mills studios, london, 26 march 2010.

‘go live’ cd tracklist:

  1. stars in still water *
  2. hengilás
  3. icicle sleeves
  4. kolniður
  5. tornado
  6. sinking friendships
  7. saint naive
  8. go do
  9. boy lilikoi
  10. animal arithmetic
  11. new piano song *
  12. around us
  13. sticks & stones *
  14. grow till tall

recorded live at ancienne belgique, belgium, 29 may 2010, except * recorded at the dome, brighton, 14 september 2010.


leave it as our raw and piercing jónsi would leave you — more than human, more than creature. restless at body, peaceful at mind, burning at heart, and on the brink of a joyful release from sorrow. go, and live. 4/5
consequence of sound

the songs retain their beauty but flourish beyond that into something triumphant and even more exciting when heard, and the visual side from the dvd half deepens the art in a different way.

go live is more than a worthy victory lap for jónsi’s incredible debut solo album go—it’s actually better. 9/10
paste magazine

jónsi’s band has been able to generate extraordinary levels of texture, the crisp sound of live percussion alone enough to give already strong arrangements new breath. 7.9

screenshots from ‘go live’ dvd

share the news

Comments are closed.